Felony DUI Defense Attorney in Aurora, Colorado
A DUI is typically a misdemeanor offense. However, a fourth DUI in Colorado is charged as a Felony. These types of cases have serious consequences and require serious representation. The Lawrence Law Firm routinely provides Felony DUI Defense in Aurora, Lakewood, Commerce City, or any Denver Metro area.
Another kind of Felony DUI is a vehicular assault. Information on that charge can be found on another part of this website. There is also a page detailing specific information about Colorado DUI Law.
What Is Consider a Prior DUI Conviction?
Colorado law will look at any prior conviction in your lifetime that is committed in any state or territory of the United States. A prior conviction includes a conviction for driving under the influence, driving while ability is impaired, vehicular assault, or vehicular homicide involving alcohol. The age of the conviction does have an impact, in some cases, on potential outcomes. A client with DUI’s from the 80’s would be handled differently from someone with more recent convictions on their record.
Additionally, the prior convictions are an essential element of the Felony DUI charge. The state would be required to establish not only that a defendant was operating a motor vehicle while under the influence, but it would be required to establish the defendant had 3 or more prior offenses. This could be beneficial if there is no proof of the prior convictions, but it also has its downsides. A jury will hear about the prior convictions and could use that evidence in an unfavorable way to a defendant.
What Is the Punishment for Felony DUI?
A fourth DUI is a class 4 Felony. This means it is punishable by up to 6 years in prison or a fine of up to $500,000. A judge can impose probation. Probation would require a defendant to complete alcohol classes, community service, and submit the monitored sobriety. There is also mandatory jail time associated with probation. If a person does straight jail time, the mandatory minimum is 90 days. A person can do work release, but the mandatory minimum increases to 120 days. In-home detention is not authorized for the mandatory minimum portion of the jail sentence. It is important to remember that the mandatory minimum is the lowest amount a judge can impose on a defendant. Judges often do go above that amount, depending on the facts of the case.
Car Accident and Felony DUI Defense
Prior convictions can make a DUI a felony DUI. A car crash can involve charges of vehicular assault if there is serious bodily injury. You can be charged with vehicular assault even if the injured party is your passenger. We have a section on our website dealing with vehicular assault.
If You Are Charged with a Felony DUI, Speak with Our DUI Defense Attorney Today
A felony will impact your entire life. It is important to speak with an attorney concerning this serious of an offense. The Lawrence Law Firm offers free consultations and aggressive representation to individuals charged with DUI offenses. If you have questions, speak with a Felony DUI Defense Attorney from the Lawrence Law Firm Today. You can schedule a free consultation today with our Felony DUI Defense Attorney.
Felony DUI Defense Attorney handling cases in Denver Metro
A fourth or greater DUI is considered a felony in Colorado. This can result in serious consequences and requires aggressive representation. Our DUI Defense attorney represent clients throughout Aurora, Denver, Parker, Castle Rock, Arapahoe County, Douglas County, and Adams County.