Skip to navigation
Aggressive and Compassionate Representation Request Consultation

Criminal Defense Attorney in Aurora, Colorado

Have You Been Arrested for A Felony or Misdemeanor? Seek a Criminal Defense Attorney and Do the Following:

There is no such thing as a one size fits all in the criminal justice system. A criminal defense attorney must tailor a case to the facts and goals of each defendant. Whether the prosecutor has sufficient evidence to proceed to trial, whether the police had probable cause, or whether a defendant’s rights were violated are all factual questions. It takes a skilled attorney to explain and apply the law to the specific facts of your case.

Contact our office. We’re open during regular business hours, but we will stay late or be available on weekends if necessary. Schedule a free consultation and let us speak with you about your case and discuss with you on how to proceed. Our Criminal Defense Attorney is willing and able to discuss and defend you against any criminal charge in Denver, Aurora, Arapahoe County, Adams County or any court in the State of Colorado.

Misdemeanor Offenses in Colorado

Colorado has divided misdemeanor into three levels that referred to as classes. A class one misdemeanor is the most serious, and a third degree is the least serious. To determine the degree of a specific misdemeanor offense, you have to look at the specific statute that you are charged with. The penalties for each are as follows:

Class 1 Misdemeanor

The most serious type of misdemeanor in Colorado. A class 1 misdemeanor is punishable by six to 18 months in jail, a fine of $500 to $5,000, or both.

Class 2 Misdemeanor

This is the misdemeanor after the class 1. A Class 2 misdemeanor carries a possible jail term of three to 12 months, a fine of $250 to $1,000, or both.

Class 3 Misdemeanor

The least serious misdemeanors under Colorado’s laws. A Class 3 misdemeanor is punishable by up to six months in jail, a fine of $50 to $750, or both.

In addition to jail and fines, a court can also place a defendant on probation. Probation is supervision, that can include conditions the Court believes is appropriate. A common condition of probation is drug testing. Crimes involving domestic violence have different possible condition. Please see our domestic violence defense section for more information.

If you are charged with a misdemeanor, you should speak with a criminal defense attorney today. Contact the Lawrence Law Firm today.

Charged with a Crime?

Request Free Consultation

Felony Offenses in Colorado

Felonies are the most serious criminal offenses in the State of Colorado. The procedures used for a felony charge are vastly different than those of a misdemeanor. In some cases, department of corrections time is mandatory. Regardless of what the charges are, it is always important to consult with a Denver or Aurora Criminal Defense attorney if charged with a felony. The penalties for felonies are as follows:

Class 1 Felony

The most serious crime. An example of a class 1 felony is murder in the first degree. A person found guilty of a class one felony can be sentenced to life in jail with the possibility of parole or death.

Class 2 Felony

A Class 2 Felony is punishable by eight to twenty four years in prison. If it is classified as a crime of violence, the mandatory range is 16-48 years. A fine of $5,000 to $100,000 could also be imposed.

Class 3 Felony

A class 3 Felony can result in a state prison sentence of four to 12 years and a fine of $3,000 to $750,000. If it is a crime of violence, the mandatory range is 10-16 years.

Class 4 Felony

A Class 4 Felony can result in a state prison sentence of two to six years’ imprisonment and a fine of $2,000 to $500,000. If it is a crime of violence, the mandatory range is 2 to 8 years.

Class 5 Felony

A Class 5 Felony can result in a prison sentence of one to three years in prison and a fine of $1,000 to $100,000. If it is a crime of violence, the mandatory range is 30 months to 8 years.

Class 6 Felony

A Class 6 Felony can result in a prison sentence of one year to 18 months in prison and a fine of $1,000 to $100,000. If it is a crime of violence, the mandatory range is 18 months to four years.

Each prison sentence above comes with a mandatory parole period. The length of the parole period depends on the felony conviction. Information concerning the parole period can be found at C.R.S. 18-13-401.

In addition to those charges, a Court is permitted to sentence defendants to probation or county jail time. The sentencing options available and used by the Court will depend on the seriousness of the charges, prior criminal history, any mitigation that is available, and other factors. It is important to speak with a criminal defense attorney to understand the best way to proceed with your case.

To further complicate the matter, cities have their own municipal codes. These codes also create criminal violations. These types of offenses are called municipal ordinance violations and are discussed more in depth under the municipal ordinance violation defense practice area.

Typical Charges Handled by Our Firm:

  • 2nd Degree Assault

  • 3rd Degree Assault

  • Criminal Mischief

  • Unlawful Possession of a Firearm

  • Child Abuse

While these are typical charges our firm usually handles, we are able to handle any criminal matter. This includes Domestic Violence Defense and DUI Defense. If you are charged with a crime, request a free consultation to discuss the facts of your case and best ways to proceed.