DUI Attorney Frequently Asked Questions
What Is the Legal Limit in Colorado?
To understand DUI Punishment, you must first understand what is considered a DUI or alcohol related driving offense. Under Colorado law, a person commits the offense of DUI if they operate a motor vehicle with a BAC greater than .08. A person commits the offense of DWAI if they operate a motor vehicle with a BAC greater than .05. Additionally, a person can be charged with a DUI if they have 5 nanograms of active THC in their system at the time of driving. There is not limit for THC under the DWAI statute.
What Are the DUI Punishments in Colorado?
The punishments for DUI’s and alcohol related driving offenses can be found at C.R.S § 42-4-1307. A DUI in the State of Colorado is considered an unclassified misdemeanor. The Colorado DUI Penalties depends on a variety of factors. The maximum possible jail sentence is 1 year and a fine from $600-$1,000. A defendant is also required to complete 48-96 hours of community service.
A first time DUI has a minimum 5 day jail sentence, but the jail can be suspended upon the successful completion of an alcohol and substance abuse class. However, a DUI involving a blood alcohol content (“BAC”) above a .20 has a mandatory 10 days of jail. In addition to jail, a defendant will also be placed on probation. The typical length of probation for a first offense is one year. The standard requirements of probation for a DUI are to complete an alcohol and substances abuse class, complete a MADD Victim Impact Panel, complete community service, and submit the monitored sobriety. A conviction for DWAI first offense can be punished by up to six months in jail or a fine of up to $500.
A second DUI or DWAI has a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 10 day with a maximum possible sentence of one year. The jail sentence may be served on in-home detention if the prior alcohol related driving offense is greater than five years old. A third offense carries a mandatory minimum 60 days jail sentence with a maximum of one year. The mandatory minimum 60 days are not eligible for in-home detention. Second and greater DUIs also require a mandatory two-year probation period, and the court will suspend an extra one year of jail on a defendant upon successful completion of probation.
It is important to remember that the mandatory minimum sentences are the lowest the Court can impose on a defendant. While subsequent offenses have mandatory minimum sentences, the court will look at other aggravating factors and mitigating factors to determine the appropriate sentence. It is not unusual for judges to impose jail sentences higher than the mandatory minimum. There are actions that can be taken to help reduce the potential for jail. To better understand your situation, request a free consultation today.
What Does Jail Mean for A Colorado DUI?
A defendant can typically serve a jail sentence in one of three ways. Jail can be straight time. This is the type of sentence where you are taken to jail and sit there for the ordered amount of time. Jail could also be served on work release status. This is a type of sentence where you are permitted to go to and from work, but you sleep in the county jail. Jail can also be served on in-home detention. This permits you to go to and from work and other court order obligations, but you are to remain at home at all other times. To determine your options or if you are eligible for alternative sentencing please contact our DUI Attorney today for a free consultation.
When Is a DUI Considered a Felony in Colorado?
A fourth DUI is considered a felony under Colorado law. For more information concerning Felony DUI please speak with our attorney today or visit our Felony DUI Section. In addition, a DUI involving an accident that results in serious bodily injury is considered a vehicular assault. Vehicular assault is a felony offense.
What Is a Prior DUI Conviction Under Colorado Law?
Colorado law will consider any priors committed in an individual’s lifetime for purposes of determining priors for sentencing consideration. This also applies to any prior DUI committed in any other State or territory in the United States of America. The age of prior offenses is a factor the Court’s will consider. If you have questions about a DUI, and you have prior offenses, contact our firm today for a free consultation.
How Much Does a DUI Attorney Costs?
The costs of a DUI Defense attorney will be based on the individual facts of your case. Costs can be hourly or flat fee. Our firm charges flat fees, but we also provide flexible payments plans. Your financial situation should not compromise your legal defenses.
Do you need a DUI attorney for a first offense?
The answer to those questions depends on the facts of your case. There are aggravators and mitigators when it comes to DUI cases. It could be possible that the answer is no, but it is not something that can be answered without a consultation. A free consultation would give you the chance to speak with an attorney to find out the answer to do you need a DUI Attorney for a first offense.
What to do if you are searching for a "DUI Attorney Near Me"
The process can be complicated and stressful. If you find yourself googling "DUI Attorney Near Me", it is best to reach out and schedule a consultation. The consultations at the Lawrence Law Firm are always free, and the DUI Attorney Near Me in our office will provide a no pressure analysis of your case.