Sexual Assault Lawyer and Sex Crimes Defense in Aurora, Colorado
A Colorado misdemeanor or felony sex crime allegation can be one of the most life shattering events of anyone’s life. If convicted, the consequences are world ending.
Domestic violence crimes carry a certain level of stigmatization. This level of stigmatization pales in comparison to what comes with a sex offender registration. Family and the most avid supports will quickly abandon a defendant merely charged with this type of allegation. It is important to have an experienced, honest, and aggressive sex crime attorney on your side.
The Lawrence Law Firm is in Aurora, Colorado, but we provide representation throughout Colorado. We understand the complexities of a sex crime and sexual assault allegation.
Our sex assault defense attorney represents clients in Arapahoe County, Douglas County, Adams County, and Denver County. We do handle cases throughout Colorado. It is always important to ask for a free consultation to understand your sex offender defense.
What are the Penalties for Sex Crimes in Colorado?
The penalty for a sexual assault crime depends on the offense and facts of the case. The possible penalties include jail, fines, and probation. Jail will depend on the classification of the offense and whether there are any extraordinary or aggravating factors. For example, cases involving a child victim will likely result in a prison sentence. The penalties for various levels of criminal offenses in Colorado can be found in our Criminal Defense Section.
Probation in a sexual assault case will be substantially different from other probation sentences. The first step will be undergoing an offense specific evaluation that will determine the level of treatment needed for a defendant.
Sex offender probation comes with significant restrictions. It can include web traffic monitoring and restrictions on being around minors. There is also sex offender treatment and where a defendant can reside.
Probation can also include other reasonable restrictions. There are also requirements associated with sex offender registry.
Who is required to Register as a Sex Offender in Colorado?
Sex offenders in Colorado are required to register pursuant to the Colorado Sex Offender Registration Act. This statute is found at C.R.S. 16-22-101. Colorado Courts have held that sex offender registration is not an element of a defendant’s sentence.
The purpose is to protect the community and not punish the defendant. However, a defendant is clearly punished by the registration.
Pursuant to C.R.S. 16-22-113(1), a defendant ma petition to discontinue registration. The period a defendant must register depends on the offense.
Class 1, 2, or 3 felonies must register for a period of 20 years. Class 4, 5, and 6 felonies must register for 10 years. Misdemeanor offenses must register for five years.
To complicate the registration period requirements, a person can be defined as a sexually violent predator. A sexually violent predator is not eligible to be removed from the registry. Colorado law has defined what a sexually violent predator is at C.R.S. 18-3-414.5.
The general requirement for a violent sexual predator is that the crime involved is serious. There needs to be a significant risk that defendant will reoffend. Sexual assault on a child by someone in a position of trust will result in a designation of sexual violent predator.
Additionally, a defendant that commits multiple misdemeanor offenses can be classified as a sexually violent predator. It is always important to speak with a criminal defense attorney that handles sex assault cases. They will help you understand the registration requirements you are facing.
What are common Sex Crime Cases in Colorado?
The most common sex crime in Colorado is sexual assault. This crime covers a variety of alleged actions. It is defined as unlawful sexual intrusion or penetration at C.R.S. 18-3-402.
The severity of the crime depends on how the assault is committed. An assault through force or violence is substantially worse than other situations.
Sexual Assault can be class 2, 3, or 4 felonies. It can also be a class 1 misdemeanor. To understand the sentencing ranges, please see our general criminal defense section.
A step down from assault is unlawful sexual contact. Sexual contact is not penetration. It is touching or fondling. Unlawful sexual contact is defined at C.R.S. 18-3-404.
The basic definition involves touching a victim without consent. A person must touch the genitals or breasts of a victim without consent.
The force used by a defendant will determine the level of offense. The use of force or drugs will result in a felony level offense. A simple touching without consent will result in a misdemeanor level offense.
A special level of offense depends on the age of the victim. If the victim is defined as a child, Colorado law will classify the offense as sexual assault on a child. Sexual assault on a child can be a class 3 or 4 offense. Sexual assault on a child will also include unlawful sexual contact.
Sexual assault on a child can be aggravated based on the relationship between the victim and the defendant. If the prosecution establishes the defendant was in a position of trust, the case will be aggravated.
The other aggravator is if the defendant allegedly engaged in a pattern of abuse. As always, it is important to speak with a child sex assault defense attorney. They will help you understand your options and how best to proceed.
Other comm sex offenses include indecent exposure or possession of child pornography in the State of Colorado. This could also include exploitation of a child. If you are facing a sex crime charge, speak with our defense lawyer today.
Speak with A Qualified Sex Assault Attorney Today
There is no one size fits all approach to a sex crime in Colorado. The facts drive and circumstances define the defense. The arguments that can be made depend on the individual circumstances of each case. An assault attorney would be able to speak with you about your case and provide the best guidance moving forward.
While a sex assault charge can seem hopeless. A skilled defense attorney can help in your case. The Lawrence Law Firm will look at the facts of your case. We will craft the best possible defense for your case.
If you are charged with a sex assault in Aurora or the Denver Metro Area, request a free consultation today. We are open during regular business hours, and we will stay late and be available on the weekends if necessary. Schedule a free consultation with an Assault Defense Attorney from the Lawrence Law Firm. We are ready, willing, and able to represent you.
Sex Assault Defense Attorney in Denver
If you are charged with a sex offense or sex assault case, seek representation immediately. It doesn't have to be with our firm, but we are willing and able to provide diligent representation if requested. Our sex assault attorney represents defendants in Denver, Aurora, Arapahoe, Adams, Douglas, and throughout the metro area.