Experience Adams County DUI Defense Lawyer
Driving Under the Influence in Adams County Requires a Skilled DUI Lawyer
Traffic infractions and incidents happen. People make routine mistakes on a regular basis, but a drunk driving infraction can cause serious consequences.
Driving under the influence seem simple, but they are not. DUI cases get complicated extremely quickly. Especially if there are aggravating factors.
Alcohol and drug-related driving offenses include driving under the influence and driving while ability is impaired. If a police officer accuses you of impaired or drunk driving, you will face serious penalties. This is especially true if you have prior DUI offenses.
A DUI case can come with high fines, jail time, loss of driving privileges, and more. If you have been charged with an alcohol related driving offense, reach out to our Experienced DUI Defense attorney.
What is the Legal Meaning of DUI in Colorado?
Driving under the influence is the operation of a motor vehicle while your ability to drive is impaired. A driver has to be substantially impaired. This can be from drugs, alcohol, or a combination of drugs and alcohol.
Operating a motor vehicle includes driving or being in actual physical control of the vehicle. Colorado law will presume you are substantially impaired if your blood alcohol content is greater than .08. Driving under the influence is an unclassified misdemeanor. Colorado law specifically defines DUI in the Colorado Revised Statutes defining Driving Under the Influence.
What are the Penalties for a DUI Offense in Adams County?
The penalties for a first DUI in Adams County can be a jail sentence of 5 days to 1 year. All the jail time can be suspended. If the blood alcohol content exceeds 0.2, the court mandates a 10-day jail sentence for the defendant.
You can serve the mandatory jail time on in-home detention or work release. Work release is a program that permits defendants to go to work. They must spend any time not at work in custody.
The court can also fine a defendant up to $1,000. In addition, they will be placed on probation. Probation will require a defendant to complete a substance abuse class and submit to monitored sobriety.
Jail and probation will only increase with every subsequent DUI offense. A second DUI offense has a mandatory 10-day jail sentence. A third DUI offense has a mandatory 60-day jail sentence. Committing a fourth DUI is a felony offense, and the court can punish it with prison.
How will a DUI in Adams County Impact Your Driver’s license?
Colorado has an express consent statute. This statute will require a defendant to submit to a blood or breath test if requested by an officer. The result of the chemical test can result in a revocation of a defendant’s driving privileges. The results must be above a .08.
The express consent revocation is a separate case. The process is similar but different.
They use a civil burden of proof. This standard is lower than a criminal standard. Also, a defendant will have to act quickly after a DUI offense in order to get that process started.
It is important to speak with a DUI lawyer quickly after you have been charged. They can help guide you in the next steps to take as well as how to safeguard your license.
The experience Adams County DUI Lawyers of the Lawrence Law Firm are knowledgeable about Colorado Criminal Law. We can guide you in how to handle your license revocation.
Speak with our Qualified Adams County DUI Attorney
Our office is in Aurora, and we routinely handle DUI cases in this jurisdiction. We focus our practice on DUI Defense in Adams County. We want to handle each client’s case on a personal basis to tailor a defense specific to each client.
Each case and each defendant require a DUI attorney to tailor a defense to their case and goals. If you have been arrested for a DUI or DWAI offense in Adams County or the Denver Metro Area, request a consultation today.
Our criminal defense attorney has over 13 years of experience handling DUI cases. We understand the challenges a DUI conviction may place on a defendant. We have challenged several arresting officers and understand the complexities of the field sobriety tests.
Our firm offers flat fees and flexible payment plans. We never want budge to be an impairment to your legal rights and defenses.
We are open during regular business hours, and we will stay late and be available on the weekends if necessary. Schedule a free consultation with our Adams County DUI Lawyers from the Lawrence Law Firm. We are ready, willing, and able to represent you.
Adams County DUI Defense
Our law firm is located in Aurora, Colorado. This means we handle a majority of clients form Adams and Arapahoe County. If you are facing a DUI case in Adams County, do not hesitate to request a free consultation.