AdobeStock_56912601.jpeg

Misdemeanors and Felonies in Aurora

Most crimes in Colorado fall within the category of misdemeanor or felony.  A misdemeanor is considered less serious than a felony, and each designation is broken down into other categories.

Misdemeanors

Class 1 Misdemeanors
A class 1 misdemeanor is the most serious type of misdemeanor in Colorado. Class 1 misdemeanors are punishable by six to 18 months in jail, a fine of $500 to $5,000, or both.

Class 2 Misdemeanors
A class 2 misdemeanor carries a possible jail term of three to 12 months, a fine of $250 to $1,000, or both. 

Class 3 Misdemeanors
Class 3 misdemeanors are the least serious misdemeanors under Colorado’s laws, punishable by up to six months in jail, a fine of $50 to $750, or both.

Felonies

lass 1 Felony

A class 1 felony is the most serious crime.  An example of a class 1 felony is murder in the first degree.  A person found guilty of a class one felony can be sentenced to life in jail or death.

Class 2 Felony

Class 2 felonies are punishable eight to twenty four years in prison.  A fine of $5,000 to $100,000 could also be imposed.

Class 3 Felony
A class 3 felony can result in a state prison sentence of four to 12 years and a fine of $3,000 to $750,000. 


Class 4 Felony

Class 4 felonies are punishable by two to six years’ imprisonment and a fine of $2,000 to $500,000. 

Class 5 Felony

The law impose a sentence of one to three years in prison and a fine of $1,000 to $100,000 for a class 5 felony conviction. 


Class 6 Felony
Class 6 felonies are the least serious felonies in Colorado, punishable by one year to 18 months in prison and a fine of $1,000 to $100,000.

Finding Legal Representation

It is important to remember that each case is different, and there is not a one size fits all to representation.  Whether the prosecutor has sufficient evidence to proceed to trial, whether the police had probable cause, or whether a defendant's rights were violated are all factual questions.  It takes a skilled attorney to explain to law and apply the law to specific facts of your case.  

The Lawrence Law Firm stands ready, willing, and able to assist and defend you against any charge in Denver, Aurora, Arapahoe County, Adams County, or any other court in the State of Colorado. At the Lawrence Law Firm expect a detailed explanation of the charges you are facing.  Mr. Lawrence takes pride in providing honest and detailed consultations. If you have any questions, do not hesitate to call Mr. Lawrence today for a free consultation.


Speak With A Lawyer

Receive a FREE consultation to discuss your case. 


Name *
Name